Daily Stormer Switches to Dark Web; Tucows Pulls Whois Privacy

It's only fair to share...Share on Facebook
31Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on LinkedIn
Share on Reddit
0Buffer this page

The Daily Stormer was knocked offline for a few hours when Google pulled the domain from the DNS. However they’ve now switched to the “dark web” and are using a .onion domain.

In order to access the site you would need to use a Tor browser, though there are several services out there that will convert .onion web addresses to work with the “normal” web.

The site is now accessible at: dstormer6em3i4km.onion and the website operator is as gung ho as ever:

We’re back.

What’s more, we have a BETTER domain than before.

If I would have known about .wang, there is no way in hell I ever would have registered dailystormer.com.

The site has received a lot of media attention over the last few days which is reflected in the site’s traffic, which they proudly displayed:


The .wang domain name that they registered is using 101 Domain’s privacy service, though the registrar (101 Domain) has already pulled it and set it to “ClientHold”. So that domain is “dead in the water” as well.

Another minor development relates to the original .com domain name and its whois record.

Canadian registrar Tucows offers a whois privacy service to several other registrars, including Google. In a statement published by the company yesterday they clarified their relationship with the domain name and that they’d pulled the whois privacy service (emphasis added):

In regards to the current issue around the Daily Stormer website, Tucows was never the webhost nor the registrar for the domain. Tucows provides a domain privacy service for millions of domains belonging to our wholesale domain resellers and to other registrars. The domain in question was transferred to one of our registrar partners and the privacy service was automatically applied.

Like Google, and GoDaddy before them, we felt this domain clearly violated our privacy service terms of service by inciting violence, and removed the privacy protection from the domain.

With the privacy service removed the underlying registrant information has been published:

Registrant Name: Andrew Anglin
Registrant Organization: Moonbase Holdings
Registrant Street: PO Box 208
Registrant City: Worthington
Registrant State/Province: OH
Registrant Postal Code: 43085
Registrant Country: US
Registrant Phone: +1.6147066127
Registrant Phone Ext:
Registrant Fax:
Registrant Fax Ext:
Registrant Email: andrewanglin1984@gmail.com
Registry Admin ID:
Admin Name: Andrew Anglin
Admin Organization: Moonbase Holdings
Admin Street: PO Box 208
Admin City: Worthington
Admin State/Province: OH
Admin Postal Code: 43085
Admin Country: US
Admin Phone: +1.6147066127
Admin Phone Ext:
Admin Fax:
Admin Fax Ext:
Admin Email: andrewanglin1984@gmail.com
Registry Tech ID:
Tech Name: Andrew Anglin
Tech Organization: Moonbase Holdings
Tech Street: PO Box 208
Tech City: Worthington
Tech State/Province: OH
Tech Postal Code: 43085
Tech Country: US
Tech Phone: +1.6147066127
Tech Phone Ext:
Tech Fax:
Tech Fax Ext:
Tech Email: andrewanglin1984@gmail.com

Whether the site will remain purely on the dark web or somehow find a home on the “normal” internet remains to be seen, but by moving underground they might stay online, but they will lose a lot of their public traffic. Using a Tor browser isn’t complicated, but it’s not a tool that every internet user would have installed.



It's only fair to share...Share on Facebook
31Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on LinkedIn
Share on Reddit
0Buffer this page

, , , , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.

Powered by WordPress. Designed by WooThemes